Good Habits

This past week, I took a few moments to ponder my daily behavior and what constitutes my habits. I have bunches of bad habits: smoking, binge eating or drinking, irregular sleep patterns.. I could go on, but that is not the point of this.
The point is that I took a few moments every day to notice.

Yet, that is not enough- I wanted to commit to three good habits for the next three months:

  1. Toxic Words
  2. Morning Pages
  3. Keeping a tidy work space

Toxic Words
This goal came from the blog, Better Writing Habits. This post suggests to eliminate the words: can’t, impossible, should and have to. Using these terms in reference to your writing and research is a subconscious hindrance to your motivation. I never used the terms, can’t or impossible, but did not notice the effects of the words, should or have to. Eliminating them, or even rephrasing sentences after, has had quite a positive affect in an extremely short amount of time.

Morning Pages
Doing morning pages is extremely simple. When you wake up in the morning, grab a pen and your designated notebook, and begin writing. The importance does not lie in what is written, only that you do not stop until three pages are full of your personal font. There are all sorts of positive benefits to reap from this habit, which Better Writing Habits explains in greater detail. Besides positive writing benefits, it has been helping me stay awake in the morning without the need for immediate caffeine.

Work Space
I get my best work done at my desk, but usually my desk is an absolute mess.. obviously from all the great that was done.       Regardless of the excuses I can make to explain why my desk looks like a paper war zone, for the next three months, I commit to keeping it tidy. I hope this tidiness will encourage me to sit down at my desk more. Although, this is not the first time that I have made a commitment regarding my desk, so to ensure my commitment stays strong, I will post at least one photo a week of my desk to twitter. I realize that no one else will care, but I know the public shame of having a messy desk will prove to be too much for me to bear.

These are my goals. I have chosen them carefully. I will keep you updated on my progress.
P.S.- Please don’t hesitate to publicly shame me for my desk in a few weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

